Your Unauthorized Guide to the Golden Age of National Lampoon Magazine

August 1972, Vol. 1, No. 29 / The Miracle of Democracy

< Previous issue | Next issue >

“COVER: This month’s cover is by Robert Grossman, winner of the coveted National Lampoon Political Caricature Award, consisting of a handsome stipend to permit a half hour of study in any appropriate area of the fine arts, for his immortal portrayal of Richard Nixon as Pinocchio, which (as is customary for winners of this sought-after citation) appears on the cover of ‘that magazine which most fulfills the ideals and principles symbolized by the National Lampoon.”

Contents (listing only)

Editorial Page, By Dean Latimer and R. Schultz; Illustration by Larry Ross

Letters, Uncredited; Illustration by Marvin Mattleson

Mrs. Agnew’s Diary, Uncredited [Doug Kenney]; Illustration by Marvin Mattleson

Humorrhoids, By Ed Bluestone; Illustration by Marvin Mattleson

True Facts, Uncredited; Illustration by Marvin Mattleson

News on the March, Uncredited [Henry Beard]; Photographs uncredited

Tales from the South, By Michael O’Donoghue; Illustrated by Don Perlin

Equal Time, By Anne Beatts, Brian McConnachie, P. J. O’Rourke, and Tony Hendra

The Miracle of Seniority, Written and illustrated by Gahan Wilson

The Miracle of Democracy, By Doug Kenney; Illustrations by Bruce McCall

Assassin, Cartoons by Rodrigues

True Politics, By Henry Beard; Photographs uncredited

The Love Song of J. Edgar Hoover, By Sean Kelly; Illustration by Michael Gross

The Coronation of King Dick, By Tony Hendra and Sean Kelly; Photography by Michael Sullivan, Illustrations by Jeffery Prescott and Harry Fischman

Freedom of Choice, By Michael O’Donoghue; Illustration by Michael Gross

Tommy Tucker: A Reactionary Hero’s Glorious Challenge to the Forces of

Arrogant Progressivism, By Dean Latimer; Illustrated by Joe Orlando

O Tempora! O Sophomores!, By Rick Meyerowitz

Foto Funnies, Uncredited [features Michael Gross]

Funny Pages, Featuring “Nuts” by Gahan Wilson; “Idyl” by Jeff Jones; “Farouk Comix” by Youssarian, “Vinny Shinblind, the Invisible Sex Maniac” by Susan Harris and Peter Bramley; “The Adams” by Nitka; “The Adventures of Fred Kismiass” by Ed Subitzky; “Shab” by B. Kliban; “Whistle-Stop” by M. K. Brown; “Baxter Bug” by Michael O’Donoghue and [?] Hart; “Doctor Colon’s Monster” by Rodrigues; “Sermonette” by Ed Bluestone and Frank Springer; and “Chicken Gutz” by Randall Enos

Original material (excluding quoted material) © 1997-2024 Mark Simonson.
Mark's Very Large National Lampoon Site is not affiliated with National Lampoon or National Lampoon Inc.
Click here for the real thing.